Miniature Museum of Contemporary Art

Founded in 1991 by Ria and Lex Daniels, the Miniature Museum of Contemporary Art houses over 1700 miniature artworks by over 700 artists.
The miniature artworks were largely created especially for the museum, the biggest pieces measure 10 x 10 cm. The museum contains artworks by Damien Hirst, Nobuyoshi Araki, Daido Moriyama, Sam Francis, Chisto, Sol LeWitt, Roy Lichtenstein, Jenny Holzer, Karel Appel, Keith Haring, Robert Longo, Marlene Dumas, Robert Mangold, Andres Serrano, Inez van Lamsweerde, Martin Parr, Yayoi Kusama, Yasumasa Morimura, Grayson Perry and many more.

Starting from November 2011 the Miniature Museum of Contemporary Art is being exhibited at the prestigious Haags Gemeente Museum. Until March 2012 it will be shown inside the existing Miniature Museum building, which was built in 1990 and encases 13,22 m2 worth of artworks. After which, new buildings will be especially constructed which will have a more permanent place at the Haags Gemeente Museum. There will be a photography building built, and one for other disciplines. So if you want to see the Miniature Museum, check it out soon!

The collection of the Miniature Museum of Contemporary Art is truly unique. In fact: the museum even got included in the Guinness Book of Records as the museum with the smallest artworks in the world. So far the Miniature Museum has had over 1000.000 visitors, and counting. If you love art, the Miniature Museum of Contemporary Art is truly a must-see!